Friday, August 17, 2012

Two Moms in the Raw - contains peanuts

Voluntary Recall - Pesto Sea Cracker for Potential Undeclared Peanut Allergen

Lot Code Best Used By Date

Two Moms in the Raw, LLC is voluntary recalling a limited number of cases of 4oz Pesto Sea Crackers produced in June-July 2012 because they may contain pine nuts that have been cross-contaminated with undeclared peanuts. People who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to peanuts run the risk of serious or life-threatening allergic reaction if they consume these products. There have been no illnesses reported to date in connection with this problem.

Wednesday, August 8, 2012

Simply Organic Italian Herb & Garden Vegetable GFCO certification not yet available

Simply Organic 

Italian Herb Sauce (BATCH2079 March 2014) UPC 089836157102 
Garden Vegetable (BATCH 1334 November 2013) 089836157119 
don't have GFCO certification codes.
 The press release for GFCO products includes these products.  Be sure to look for a GFCO certification code to ensure that you are preparing a product that has been tested for its gluten free status.
Simply Organic's reply:
"Thanks again for bringing this to our attention. We are in the process of changing the labels over to include the GFCO logo. While this product does not have any gluten containing ingredients, these batches are not certified gluten-free. These items were added to the list prematurely, and we will remove them until the labels have been updated and all batches go through testing to ensure the absence of gluten. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you"
Thank you Simply Organic and Frontier Naturals COOP for reporting back to us so quickly.

Monday, June 11, 2012

Update on Food For Life Products

According to Food For Life representatives, all products labelled gluten free are randomly tested to be gluten free with Elisa Assay Test Kits.  This information does not match up to independent laboratory tests that show higher levels of gluten in 2 products. 

As a side note:  It is important to know that Elisa Assay Test Kits can create false negatives when they are not used properly.

Sun Flour Baking - Gluten and Wheat Alert

Sun Flour Baking as of July 2012 is testing cookies with an Elisa at Home Test Kit.  All cookies show non-detectable at 5ppm.

Sun Flour Baking states the following regarding the gluten status of their products:

"Do you guarantee that your cookies are Egg, Dairy, Wheat, Gluten, Sugar and Peanut Free?"  
"All Sun Flour products are produced in a 100% vegan dedicated facility, which means that we DO guarantee that our cookies are free of ALL animal products.  We cannot guarantee that there won't be trace amounts of wheat, gluten, sugar or peanut because all of our products are processed on the same equipment.  However, all utensils and machinery are cleaned thoroughly between each batch, so it is at your discretion whether or not to purchase Sun Flour products."

Tuesday, March 13, 2012

Thai Kitchen UPDATE - Mushroom Rice Noodle Soup

Newly produced Thai Kitchen Mushroom Soup Bowls are labelled gluten free, but don't mess up and grab an old item.  They used to contain gluten and some skus may still be in circulation or in your cupboard.


Let's Do Sprinkles - Confetti are No Longer Labelled Gluten Free

This product now contains Barley Grass Powder!

The Jelly Bean Planet - CONTAINS WHEAT

The Jelly Bean Planet Company
states in its ingredient list "Wheat Syrup"

This product contains Wheat and is not suitable for individuals on a Wheat Free/ Gluten Free Diet.  

Friday, March 9, 2012

Update on ProMax January 2011 BARLEY ALERT

Promax had a CONTAINS WHEAT problem back in April 2011.  At the time they had only a gluten free label with no gluten free certification organizations. Now they have a BARLEY PROBLEM and they are currently GFCO Certified.

4 product types labeled gluten free (please note there might be more):

Roasted Peanut
Dark Mint
Dark Chocolate
Brownie Raspberry Truffle

Products currently labeled gluten free but containing barley malt in the soy crisp:

Promax Nutty Butter Crunch
LS Peanut Butter Cookie Dough bars 

These bars are certified by Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) but they do include ingredients derived from barley.

Company states that they are manufacturing new products without barley malt as an ingredient.  Please note that this statement was made by the company regarding the Dark Mint flavor listed above in January of 2011.  

PLEASE REMEMBER, AS ALWAYS.... Read your labels! Ask Questions! Trust Your Body!   and ultimately... forward any information you have on falsely labeled products to a trusted source.  


Monday, March 5, 2012

Jelly Belly Recall - CONTAINS WHEAT

Allergen Alert by Food Safety News

Peter Rabbit's Easter Mix has been recalled.  The label is inaccurate.

Picture coming soon

Saturday, March 3, 2012

The Gracious Gourmet: Balsamic Four Onion Spread NOT GLUTEN FREE

The Gracious Gourmet: Balsamic Four Onion Spread


onions (yellow onion, leeks, shallots, red onion) sugar, balsamic vinegar, raisin, less than 2% of: vegetables and concentrated vegetables (carrots, celery, onion, tomato), yeast extract, salt, maltodextrin, canola oil, natural flavor, barley malt extract, dried onion, dried potato, dried garlic, spices, modified foodstarch, orange peel. Vegan.

Please note that this product contains barley and a product that contains barley does not meet the based the Food and Drug Administration's suggestion of gluten free which states that a product may not contain wheat, barley, rye or contaminated oats.

Food For Life Tortillas & Millet Bread

Independent laboratory tests scheduled by Gluten Free Watchdog, have shown that both Food For Life brown rice tortillas & Food For Life Millet bread have tested above the federally suggested safety zone of 20 parts per million (ppm), and far above the Celiac Sprue Associations suggested safety zone of non-detectable at 5ppm.

 Food For Life: Brown Rice Tortillas

Food For Life: Millet Bread

 Without a gluten free labeling law it is important that, we as a community, work together to maintain our health and safety while maintaining a gluten free diet.

When regulation is unavailable, it is up to consumers to band together.  It is important that we, as gluten free consumers, think about where we spend our money and about what we are monetarily supporting.

Additionally, we can spend our money supporting new watchdog programs that are popping up throughout the United States as a way of keeping food manufacturers in check.

Be sure to show your support in any way possible.  Your support matters!

Support Gluten Free Watchdog and Help Us to Get More Products tested GF

 There is a great article on Gluten Free versus Naturally Gluten Free grains, seeds and nuts and they're contamination levels.  It is interesting that Millet Flour tested at 15.5 ppm with a gluten free label.  This is higher than the Celiac Sprue Association's choice of non detectable at 5ppm, but still meets federal guidelines which request non dectable at 20ppm.

For naturally gluten free products (products not labelled gluten free, but not having any gluten containing ingredients):
the range of gluten ran from less than 5ppm to 2,925 ppm

Read more here:

GF Grains: Are They Really Gluten Free

Tricia Thompson is Involved in a monitoring project on both gluten free labeled products.  You can join in your support for only $5 a month.  The Gluten Free Specialty Market is a proud sponsor of Tricia Thompson's project!

Join Gluten Free Watchdog

Thursday, February 9, 2012

Wolfgang Puck Soups - GF Labeling Info Update

Wolfgang Puck no longer guarantees that any of the soup products are gluten free unless the label states gluten free.

Read your product labels and double check for you health and safety.

Click Here For More Information:

Saturday, January 28, 2012

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Manitoba Harvest - No Longer Labelled Gluten Free

My Question:

Though I understand you use a dedicated facility that DOES NOT process any dairy, soy, nut or gluten products, I want to check to see if you know if the seeds are registering detectable with gluten. We are advocating for the safety of our customers both retail and wholesale. Thank you so much for your time!

Manitoba Harvest's Answer:

Thank you for contacting Manitoba Harvest and thinking of hemp foods! For over a decade Manitoba Harvest has strived to deliver the highest quality hemp food products to our valued customers and supporters. Every load of hemp seed that is delivered to our facility is tested for gluten. Gluten tests can fluctuate from lot-to-lot. In August we moved to a more accurate protocol for gluten testing. Our parts per million gluten tests are now +/- accuracy of 5 parts per million (versus our previous accuracy of +/- 10, which I believe is an industry standard).

Hemp seed is naturally gluten free. However, even one kernel of wheat or barley amongst 50,000 hemp seeds can potentially result in a positive test for gluten. As a vertically integrated (from field to consumer) company, this one kernel/seed could be inadvertently introduced at any point – during harvest, seed cleaning, or delivery to our facility. This potential concerns us greatly. As such do not claim that our products are gluten free. You will notice we have removed the gluten free statement on our labels and instead state: “This product is made at a hemp dedicated facility that does NOT process any dairy, soy, nut or gluten products.”

We are aggressively looking for processes and methodologies that would provide us with certainties on gluten free.

Date of Response: 1/4/11